How is the market for buying ammo right now?

imagine what just -one- (yes I do know just how silly this is with the NES mindset) speeding ticket/other mover does to the equation ?

Also look at the dealer classifieds. KAGArms has competitive pricing. Beats TSUSA non-prime member pricing
Yeah, but the ammo at that link is apparently only good for shooting Lion / Tiger hybrids. ;)

Ammo is cheaper and more available than it was last year.
That's a low bar to clear.

Newbie here, ltc-a end of 2020.

Prices are down considerably since Jan 2021, nearly 50% though I'm sure long time members have seen better days.

Best tool to use ammoseek.com. Allows you to exclude retailers that won't ship to MA. One retailer mentioned already lucky Gunner does not ship to MA. Target sports does and occasionally they have great deals. But you have to know your prices.

Even factoring in shipping many times I'm able to beat local retail prices.

I think someone mentioned the standard calibers like 9, .223, 5.56 and 12g are easily found for good prices.

Start digging online and you might just save some cash in gas. With gas at $4+ it doesn't make sense to drive 100 miles to save $0.05 cents per round.
If local is mass or small retired cop LGS you can almost always beat there prices on line. Covid shortages aside local shops around me would look at you funny when you came in looking for 10k rounds of 22lr with the same lot# or 10 cases of 12g trap loads. Heck even Dicks sporting goods was not interested in suppling the club with pallets of ammo. Weird huh
They dont buy in volumes large enough to compete.
Im pretty sure this is why Carl at 4 seasons has his empty the ammo trailer sale 2 times a year.

Standard pistol and 5.56 calibers are down from what they were and availablilty is up. Ive seen prices headed down.....

Shotgun ammo, and hunting calibers are scarce, but can be found sparingly at OK prices.