House Purchase Advice.

Rating - 100%
7   0   0
I figured I would post this on here rather than some of the other forums I frequent due to the fact that the average age and experience is probably much higher here.

I am looking to purchase my first home sometime in the next six Months or so and would like to acquire as much knowledge as possible about the subject. I have some basic knowledge of FHA and CFHA financing offers that are out there at the moment.

I am very handy and have never come across a project that I haven't been able to accomplish whether it be carpentry, mechanical, or anything to that matter. I am not afraid to purchase a home that needs a decent amount of renovation or "TLC" although I don't want to get myself into a hell hole.

Pretty much I am looking for some basic pointers and tips to aid me in the home buying process. I will be purchasing this home with my Fiance'. She will be out of nursing school shortly after the intended purchase time frame. According to out finances we should be able to afford a home somewhere around the 140k mark. When figuring our finances I did a comparison of rent vs own on a spreadsheet and pretty much doubled our utility costs of renting.

Unfortunately I am usually the "impulse buy" kind of purchaser and have told myself that it is absolutely necessary to not rush into the process or fall in love with the first home that we look at. I do consider myself a little young at the age of 24 to purchase a home but with the way the market is trending I feel like if I wait I will really regret it. I am generally pretty smart with my money as far as large purchases go.

I have been told by several Realtors that short sales and forclosures are too much of a hassle but the prices are rather tempting. I do realize that I have a pretty tight budget. Living in CT does not help that much either. I just want to be smart with the purchase and not make myself "house poor"