1. If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

2. Dismiss Notice

Home foam insulation - floor joists?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by rep308, Feb 11, 2019.

1. rep308

rep308 NES Member

My daughter is having a home built now and it's tight to the weather. It is 2x6 construction and they plan to use 2" foam in the walls and 4" fiberglass. I have a general question about where they foam, I am new to the process. The house is a two story colonial with a unfinished basement that they plan to finish at a later time.

Do they or should they foam the floor joists in the unfinished basement? Should they foam the floor joists between the 1st and 2nd? Do they foam the ceiling on the 2nd floor?

Any info on the foam process or links would be appreciated. I'm trying learn more as the building progresses

2. Super99Z

Super99Z NES Member

Close cell spray as much as possible. In between floors isn't neccessary. It pays for itself in the long run. Don't skimp on insulation, it's the 1 thing that is extremely difficult to replace later. Just about Anything else in a house can be upgraded without tearing into the walls..

3. rep308

rep308 NES Member

Thank you for the quick response. I was thinking that doing the basement floor joist would help with heat and noise when they finish the basement at a later time. Any other tips or questions that we should ask of the foam insulation company?

4. evalance

evalance NES Member

Is the basement floor insulated ? Spray floor joist basement and r30 Kraft rest or spray it all.

Spraying all floor joist is common and I'm not sure with what you mean spray the 2nd floor they would spray the roof deck.

5. alpineboard

alpineboard