Home Defense

Hey out there. I have a couple of questions about defending the one thing we should be able to defend with our lives; our homes.

1: I believe that I heard that Rhode Island is a state that honors the castle doctrine; that the homeowner does not need to 'stand down', unlike MA law. Is this correct?

2: What, if any, are the 'home defense' laws or policies on those who live in an apartment setting? Is home defense restricted to just the apartment you live in, or could you also consider the entire building part of your home? (for instance, someone is trespassing inside the building, wielding a deadly weapon and making threats about severely injuring or killing someone).

Here is the law you are looking for: http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE11/11-8/11-8-8.HTM

I'm no lawyer, but I have a feeling you can only defend what you pay rent on. If you shoot someone in someone elses apartment, Castle goes out the window and now you need to have a strong case for self defense. Based on your scenario, you would probably not be charged outside your apartment, but every prosecutor is different. All of Rhode Islands laws are weak, full of holes and ripe for interpretation. Consequently, a good lawyer might convince a judge/jury that being in your building is the same as being in your apartment, but unless someone knows of a precedent, the statute is a little vague. Also keep in mind, RI's Castle law does not apply to being outside the building (although you can be in your chicken coop- seriously, its another statute).

thanks for the info. I tried asking a Providence cop... figures that they tried to avoid answering this question like the plague. Definitely gotta love all the loopholes, and the loopholes in said loopholes.

swiss_cheese.jpg