• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Help with getting setup with a Bow

Sparkey

NES Member
Any suggestions for a shop in Worcester central mass area that can get me setup with a bow ?
I am looking to get in to archery hunting. I am a seasoned deer hunter shotgun, rifle, muzzleloader but want to get into archery game.
I know of Archery plus in Spencer any good ?
I am a total newbie also a lefty 6’3”
Any help is appreciate on what I need don’t need pitfalls to avoid.
Hoping to get setup soon so I can practice all year to get ready.
Thanks

I'll put my vote in for Jerry's, he's done work to my bow the last two seasons and does top notch work for reasonable prices.

May be a little out of the way but you'll save sales tax. Pelletiers in Jaffery,NH has all big three brands of bows. (Bowtech, Mathews, Hoyt, and PSE) They also have a very patient staff that will work with you and let you shoot them all. Being lefty you'll be somewhat limited, but they are great guys. I've been around archery for 25 years and these guys do the best job setting and tuning that I know of. I used to set up my own, now I just bring it to them and its perfect.

Archery Plus is not where I'd go if I were a beginner......not the most patience and customer service is limited, and he only carries a brand or two of bows.

Lot s of good advice. You will be best off with a good local shop that will spend some time with you to set you up properly AND get a few lessons to get you started out right. No sense learning bad habits out of the gate.

As a general rule you would be wise to stay away from the big box stores.

Bob