• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Help me pick or build a new AR upper (please)

Hello Everyone,

I'm looking to build a 20in barreled upper. Essentially I want a heavy, high-end, tack driver. The problem is I'm new to AR's and have no clue where to start. I've been looking at LMT parts but I really just have no experience. Where should I start?

Footnote: Since I'm on the AR topic does anyone have any experience about the JP silent buffer springs? I hear good things but I'm not 100% if it'll fit in an older Colt lower or if i need to remove the buffer detent before installing.

I have a Les Baer that shoots between 1/4 to 1/2. Its pretty tough to get just their barrels unless you go to them directly. I have also had good luck with White Oak Armament barrels, but the Les Baer consistently shot just a little better for me.

Dave

White Oak. Their prices have come down, and a complete upper (incl. BCG+CH) can be had for ~$700.

If your going to buy a upper, depending on scoped/iron sights end use ect White Oak are hard to beat.
Wilson arms barrels are on my rifles and 1moa with tossed together ammo is pretty easy to achieve.
There are several good barrels out there.
Your end use and expected results are key to what you want.
Consider your ammo choices also.
My RRA milspec A2 will shoot 60grain noslers varmint bullets to 1moa from a rest with ease. It will not hold 4" with any of the M193/855 branded ammo out there. The best factory non match ammo I put through the milspec was Remington 55 grain stuff in the yellow and green box.
I have 18" heavy barrel with matched bolt from compass lake bought last year on sale super slick barrel.

If your going to buy a upper, depending on scoped/iron sights end use ect White Oak are hard to beat.
Wilson arms barrels are on my rifles and 1moa with tossed together ammo is pretty easy to achieve.