Having issues with text box

ASHDUMP

NES Member
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
5,309
Likes
1,729
Location
Massashootin'
When I type in this box and hit the "delete" or "return" buttons my keyboard disappears.

It's the only website/app that does this now.

Phone did a security update last night.
 

sHORTY

Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
NES Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
1,641
Likes
521
Location
Chicago
This is a bug with the latest release of the Chrome mobile browser - unfortunately nothing we can do on our side for the moment, but the powers that be are aware and hopefully making a quick fix.
 

smokey-seven

NES Member
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
6,148
Likes
5,469
Location
North Shore
The alternative edit is to highlight the text you want to replace and type in the new, or highlight the word and do the same.

Wont work without a mouse tho..
 

sHORTY

Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
NES Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
1,641
Likes
521
Location
Chicago
At this point, there are two potential workarounds: 1) disable the rich text editor (click the gear icon on the bar above that says disable bbcode) 2) use an alternative browser for the time being (safari, etc.)

We've filed a bug with Chrome, and they're pushing a fix, but it may take up to two weeks for it to reach your specific device due to the way they roll out patches.
 

drgrant

Moderator
NES Member
Rating - 100%
61   0   0
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
73,194
Likes
39,169
There's also a lot of lockups/lag etc with text entry on chrome mobile. It's very erratic though and not consistent at all.
 

cams

NES Member
Rating - 100%
22   0   0
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
5,255
Likes
16,104
Location
Boston
One issue I’ve had with the text box for the site is after using the quote feature, sometimes you want to highlight a particular statement inside the quote, using BOLD or ITALICS, so you do the usual to enact those choices but then when you move down to text your own reply to the highlighted statements, the BOLDED statements get reverted back to standard (no longer bolded or italicized and you have to start the whole process over again.

Generally takes me 2-3 tries to get thru it this way.
IOS/Safari latest OS
 

Wickedcoolname

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
2,330
Likes
3,726
Location
North Central Mass
This is a bug with the latest release of the Chrome mobile browser - unfortunately nothing we can do on our side for the moment, but the powers that be are aware and hopefully making a quick fix.
Thanks! It's been driving me nuts. I wanted to throw my phone on the floor but I'd been drinking and I figured I'd miss.
 

AHM

NES Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
8,162
Likes
6,454
One issue I’ve had with the text box for the site is after using the quote feature, sometimes you want to highlight a particular statement inside the quote, using BOLD or ITALICS, so you do the usual to enact those choices but then when you move down to text your own reply to the highlighted statements, the BOLDED statements get reverted back to standard (no longer bolded or italicized and you have to start the whole process over again.
I got fed up with nested quote elision and brooming of text styles inside quotes.
(Don't know if it still does the latter).

So quite a while ago,
I stopped using pure text quotes entirely -
I just use indent.

(I still use reply-quoting, for the backpointers and user-name citation credits).
 
Top Bottom