• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

GUN SHOP PRICES

WMD

I'm a newbie and I'm going to be buying my first gun soon. People have recommended going to 4 seasons in woburn or ag guns in lowell since they are knowledgable. My question is whether you can haggle with the price or is it set in stone? Especially since I might be buying alot of equipment as well. I don't know if it's like buying a car and I'll be the only sucker paying sticker price. Any help would be appreciated. Also, any recs on other places I should be shopping out would be great.

I don't know about haggling at Four Seasons, but they may throw in a free box of ammo with the purchase of a new firearm.

What are you looking to purchase?

I was thinking of a target .22lr and something to carry like a .380 or compact 9mm. Maybe a snub .38. Still haven't made up what's left of my mind.

At Four Seasons and many other shops you can haggle with consignment gun prices, as the prices are set by the gun owner, not by the shop.

At most shops, if you buy a lot of stuff at one time, you may or may not get a small break. But basically buying new stuff in a store is like buying groceries in the super market . . . haggling is not part of the deal.

Here's what I can tell ya from buying guns and working at a store.

It does not hurt to try to get a better price then advertised. A penny saved is an extra round of ammo down the road.

I will tell you that if you shop around at shops that have low prices the chance of them going down further in price is not much in your favor. You can however get extras sometimes. Box of ammo, cleaning stuff ect.

If you go to a shop with higher prices they may be willing to "help" you out a little more. Then when you ask for a box of ammo, they’ll give you the I just dropped the price for you speech.

Warning,