Good startup AR15 books

With many of us getting AR lowers and starting the journey into the EBR world, I thought it may be a good idea to tell you about a couple of AR15 book s I purchased from MidwayUSA. They are:

"The AR-15 Complete Assembly Guide, 2nd Edition" Book by Walt Kuleck

and

"The AR-15 Complete Owner's Guide" Book by Walt Kuleck

They arrived today so I have only been able to quickly look through them but from what I have seen so far I think that they will be quite useful. They deal with assembly and disassembly, troubleshooting, maintenance etc. At $20 buck a pop they will be a good investment considering how little I know about AR's.

Just thought I would share the info.

I am pretty new to ARs also and picked up the owners guide at the BigE gun show. It was worth the $20 to read. I will probably get te assembly guide also since I like the way the owners guide was written.

Over at another forum, they recomment Green Eyes, Black Rifles which I will be picking up soon also.

+1 for Kuleck's books. I'd had the pleasure of having lunch with Walt at a Garand Collector's Association event a few years back. Really nice, helpful and knowledgeable guy. Those two books are as good a primer on AR assembly and maintenance as I've personally found.

My only minor gripe is that they're a tad out of date in a couple of areas, especially aftermarket equipment recommendations (I believe that he'd said that the Jewell trigger was the best available at the time of publication). Also, the sections on laws and competition regulations are a bit out of date. (Note that these gripes are common to a great many gun books).

IMHO, Derrick Martin's "The Complete Guide to AR-15 Accuracy" is a good companion. Covers many aspects of technique, equipment, & loading.

IMNSHO, I was not impressed at all by John Feamster's "Black Magic". It had a few nuggets, but I had to dig through way to hard to find them.