Good beginner rifle for range and home defense

Does anyone have any recommendations for a good beginner rifle in the 400-800 dollar range? I'm new to the world of long guns and am looking to buy a solid rifle for casual range time and home defense. I've been looking at the S&W M&P15 Sport and the Ruger Mini-14. I'm going to try to stay with .223 but am open to .308 and .30 calibers as well.

.223 and .308 are overkill when it comes to standard "home" defense. Unless your "home" is a large property and want something to reach out. Otherwise you have a very good chance of over-penetrating both the target and your neighbor's home.

There are pistol caliber carbines like the beretta CX4 which seem more appropriate for home defense imo.

Last edited:
If you're looking at the m&p sport, I'd suggest also looking at the new ruger AR-556 coming out. Same price as the m&p sport but includes forward assist, dust cover and a CHF barrel. If thats something that matters to you.

.223 and .308 are overkill when it comes to standard "home" defense. Unless your "home" is a large property and want something to reach out. Otherwise you have a very good chance of over-penetrating both the target and your neighbor's home.

There are pistol caliber carbines like the beretta CX4 which seem more appropriate for home defense imo.
The upside of a pistol caliber carbine is cheaper ammo.

You got it right with an AR15. The S&W Sporter is a great choice. You can have all the fun you want at the range and as for home defense, an AR15 with a 30 rd pre ban magazine is pretty devastating. You don't have to worry about over penetration in the home, just need to use the correct ammo. As an example, read this.. http://frangiblebullets.com/

Don't forget all the other stuff you'll need, sling, pre-ban mags, optic and sights, case, and of course ammo. Do you have any handguns?

consider the classifieds, great choices pop up in there for ARs.