• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Going to buy a shotgun, I have some questions.

I am going to buy a shotgun at KTP in Maine. Any one know how it works buying a shotgun there? I am from Mass by the way.

Now, can I buy one in any configuration or does it have to be Mass compliant?

Thanks!

(insert "I am not a lawyer" disclaimer here)

I assume you have your FID or LTC already, so the only sticking point would be a semi-auto shotgun that runs afoul of the states restrictions on "assault weapons" - e.g. the Saiga-12.

KTP has a NH storefront where they can do the transaction, so there's no problem with buying in an adjacent state.

Semi-auto's can't have more than one evil feature (usually pistol grip or detachable magazine) and the tube can't hold more than 5 shells (for which it was designed). You also have to file an FA-10 within 7 business days of the purchase.

What are you buying this shotgun for? Hunting, skeet, clays, home defense, etc....?

Semi-auto's can't have more than one evil feature (usually pistol grip or detachable magazine) and the tube can't hold more than 5 shells (for which it was designed). You also have to file an FA-10 within 7 business days of the purchase.

Capacity of more than 5 rounds in the tube is simply one evil feature, rather than a complete no no.

I'm sure jdubois will be along to correct me if I'm wrong but the detachable magazine is not an evil feature but a pre-requisite for the AWB to apply. With out a detachable magazine you can have as many evil features as you want.

I'm sure jdubois will be along to correct me if I'm wrong but the detachable magazine is not an evil feature but a pre-requisite for the AWB to apply. With out a detachable magazine you can have as many evil features as you want.