• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Go no Go Gauges, what to buy?

rkwjunior

NES Member
My build has a 5.56 chamber, my bolt is a Stag . I noticed while looking for gauges, they sell both 5.56 and 223. Do i need both, or just the 5.56? I'm assuming I'll be GTG with 223 if the 5.56 gauge is a go?

if its 5.56 chambered go for that..5.56 can shoot 223..but not the other way around so thats prolly your best bet. the gauge will close and work on both..but you cant go wrong with just the 5.56

The only guns I have headspaced are AKs, but I would say that you should get a set of go-no go gauges in the caliber that your chamber is stamped. If that is 5.56, then get those. I'm no expert, but from everything I have heard and read, it is not good practice to just check a new gun/barrel with a field gauge.

If you look at the specs you'll see there is a difference .
On the no go the 5.56 is .0036 bigger
Field gauge is 556 is .03 bigger.

Go gauge for mill is .0006 bigger also .
In reality it don't matter if you in that .0006 or .003 difference on head space you on the extrem ends of the Max .

I've used a .223 gauges to head space one of my aks with a 556 chamber

Last edited:
Have some patience hotshot.

Haha, well i saw almost 200 views and only 4 responses and about to go to the next page, so i panicked..

- - - Updated - - -

If you look at the specs you'll see there is a difference .
On the no go the 5.56 is .0036 bigger
Field gauge is 556 is .03 bigger.

Go gauge for mill is .0006 bigger also .
In reality it don't matter if you in that .0006 or .003 difference on head space you on the extrem ends of the Max .

I've used a .223 gauges to head space one of my aks with a 556 chamber

Ok maybe i'm over thinking this, i'll just go with the 5.56 go no go. Thanx Ben.

The main differences in 223/556 chambers has to do with lead and free bore.