• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Gifting firearms from MA to NH

A good friend from MA put me on to this great forum. First time poster. I'm a long time NH resident and pistol permit holder. My Massachusetts aging father would like to gift his firearms to me. 3 hunting rifles one old revolver and an old .22 pistol. None were purchased after 1965 except for 1 shotgun, probably 20 years old. A few were through dealers a few through private purchases. I'm not selling any of them and I plan on eventually gifting them to my son. Here's my question: several of my NH friends (firearms enthusiast) are telling me that since they are relatively old (late 50’s to early 60’s) to just go down to MA get them, have Dad write up a bill of sale, and throw them in my safe, done deal. My initial thought was to drag him and his firearms up to a NH FFL and do a transfer, but these guys say I’m nuts. BTW, my father is not healthy and this whole excursion would be pretty stressful for him. I want to do the right thing, but also don’t want to go through an unnecessary chump move. Please feel free to PM me. Thanks for you help!

Your "friends" are setting you up for Federal Felonies! Fed Law PROHIBITS any transfers between 2 parties that reside in different states, other than inheritance once a person passes on. Also if you don't have a MA NR LTC, you'd be setting yourself up for MA Felonies as well!

You have 2 options that will work for anything mfd 50+ years ago (by S/N):

- Obtain a C&R FFL, cost $30, good for 3 years and allows you to obtain any C&R gun from ANYBODY in ANY state. With this you could take them from your Father, present him with a signed copy of your C&R FFL and enter them in your Bound Book (obligation to Feds for any/all FFLs) when you get home. You still need someone with a MA LTC to be with you to transport them to the state line however.