Getting a machine gun license

Hey Everyone,

I just wanted some input. I'm trying to get my machine gun license (green card). I already have my C&R 03 FFL. I also live in a green town. I called the police department and asked before I got my FFL. They flat out said that they didn't issue them, then the officer hesitated and asked if I was a firearms instructor or FFL holder. I said no and he said then no can do.

So I have my 03 FFL, do you think becoming a certified firearms instructor on top of that will make a difference? Any and all help would be appreciated.

Hey Everyone,

I just wanted some input. I'm trying to get my machine gun license (green card). I already have my C&R 03 FFL. I also live in a green town. I called the police department and asked before I got my FFL. They flat out said that they didn't issue them, then the officer hesitated and asked if I was a firearms instructor or FFL holder. I said no and he said then no can do.

So I have my 03 FFL, do you think becoming a certified firearms instructor on top of that will make a difference? Any and all help would be appreciated.
He may have simply been quoting the state law requirement that you have to be a "bonafide collector" or a State Police firearms instructor.

The CMR indicates that a C&R FFL (03) demonstrates that you are a "bonafide collector". Some towns have taken that to mean that must have a C&R, others that a C&R is one means of demonstrating "bonafides" and still others that a C&R is "a start", but you need more...

Towns also differ widely in their policy of issuance regardless of the above ranging from "no" to in line with their LTC-A policy and everything in-between.

Hey Everyone,

Did you have your C&R when you called, because the answer is yes, you are an FFL holder, right?

My understaning is that you need to instruct LE in order to be eligible under the instructor category.

The C&R FFL is what qualifies you as a bona fide collector