FtF transfer and moved to MA

First time poster, but I used to find helpful info on these forums back in the late 2000s and was hoping I could get some thoughts from the community.

Up until 2015, I was a NH resident and held a resident CCW permit. Also owned a handful of firearms (rifles, pistols, shotguns) all bought through an FFL. When I learned we would have to move (for a better commute) to MA possibly temporarily, I decided to leave my guns with a longtime friend who is also a NH resident and gunowner / CCW holder. The plan was to move back to NH in a few years at which time I would take the guns back from him. The friend lives in a quiet, safe town and has a gun safe so that was my best option outside of selling them. Didn't take the guns to MA with me as we would be renting a small apt, I wouldn't have time to shoot, and some were not MA compliant anyway.

It's been 4 years now, and sadly, it doesn't look like we will ever move back to NH. So I need to decide what I want to do with the guns. My presumption is that while I didn't do any paperwork (bill of sale, etc.) back then, giving him the guns in 2015 was still effectively a "face to face transfer" and legally makes the guns his, and I now need to transfer them (at least the MA compliant ones) back to me in MA through an FFL. Am I correct?

As for the non-MA compliant ones, I may decide to let my NH-resident friend keep them permanently as a gift, in which case I don't need to do anything else since they were already "transferred" to him in 2015?

Before I did anything, I figured I'd get some opinions from the NES community.
Many thanks!

There is a search box that works great now. Use it before asking questions that have already been answered. If you don't find your answer, then come back and ask about your specific twist. Become a member.

Nice story though.

Last edited:
You gave them to him to hold, that does not constitute a transfer