Form 1 question 4c, 4h, 8, and 17

Frannyw

NES Member
Hey guys just looking for some clarification on a few questions filling out my form 1 as an individual.

For question 4c, the correct caliber designation for 5.56 would be 5.56mm?

For question 4h, would be name and address as indicated in 3b that will be engraved in the firearm ie.

John James Doe
Anytown, MA

For section 8 name and title of authorized official would be name and the title would be “maker”?

John James Doe, Maker

And finally for section 17. I will be sending a money order. Since I’m not providing credit card info and not authorizing them to charge, do I not sign there?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. I researched quite a bit and believe I have this correct however, this is my first for 1 and would like to have all my T’s crosses and i’s dotted. Would prefer not to have it sent back with errors.

I'm not an expert but I've filled out quite a few form 1s and never had a problem with approval. I will admit all my latest approvals are through the Silencer Shop kiosk so its been a while since I've seen the paper form. If you are near a kiosk I highly recommend setting up an account.

4C - 5.56x45
4H - (Trust name or name) City, State. Exactly what you will engrave on the lower. I never used to fill this out but I was told its advised now.
8 - Legal name since individual, trust if you change your mind.
17 - Method of payment. Sign only if you change your mind and use a credit card, which I suggest. (less stuff)

Last edited:
I'm not an expert but I've filled out quite a few form 1s and never had a problem with approval. I will admit all my latest approvals are through the Silencer Shop kiosk so its been a while since I've seen the paper form. If you are near a kiosk I highly recommend setting up an account.

4C - 5.56mm
4H - (Trust name or name) City, State. Exactly what you will engrave on the lower. I never used to fill this out but I was told its advised now.