five station vs four station

Neptune Cat

NES Member
I'm new at reloading (which may become painfully obvious).

Why would I need five stations? What is a powder check station?

I know LNLs have an issue with ejecting loaded cartridges. Are they worth the extra money over the 550B (I know every situation is different)? I'm planning on reloading mostley .45 maybe some 9mm and some .223.

I've been reloading .45 on a single stage RCBS and it takes much time. And although it may be another year before I can afford a progressive I can't stop thinking about it.

RELOADING

get a LEE cast turret 4 station.it will speed up things.some times progresives are a pain for new users as they have more chances of problems.I have 3 progressives,so I have experiance but not with Dillon,Hornady.the Lee is quick change.and inexpensive.all makes are good but some are very pricey.I have about 10 presses.[grin]

If I understand it correctly all a powder check is is a sensor,for lack of a better term,to let you know that the case has no powder that's all. As far as 4 station vs 5 station matter of choice. I had a Dillon 550 for 20 years at least loved it great machine no problems with it no major breakage etc. I could crank out pistol ammo at a rate of 450rd/hr which is not shabby considering I'm all thumbs I now have a 650 which is five station and find that I don't use that last station but if someday I feel the need for a powder check or whatever I have that option. If your thinking of going progressive
IMHO go with the 550 as much as I like my 650 changing the priming system is royal PITA and the conversion kits,tool head are much cheaper than the 650. Yes I know I've drunk the blue Kool Aid.

I think the Hornady LnL is easy to setup and run.

The 5 holes give you a lot of options and as far as the ejection problem with the Lee FCD you can easily get around that.

The Hornady LnL is a bargain at it's price and with the free bullets it's a great deal.

Last edited: