• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

First Gun Help...Please

I'm looking to purchase my first gun. I've been shooting for about 8 years with a couple of friends who are glock fanatics (both are cops). I've been renting on my own at places to try other things out. This weapon will be for defense and concealed carry. I've been looking at 9mm pistols and really liked the s&w 6906. I've seen a few used at good prices. Another gun broker I was talking to said that for a first gun I should buy something new (warranty, not somebody else's old gun, etc...) and showed me a s&w M&P. The M&P is definately a sweet machine. The real question is should I really go new (more money)? What about the 2 choices above (6906 & m&p)? Should I stick with a glock because I've shot them the most (the're nice but I've never been blown away)? The gun I've shot and liked the most has been a H&K USP Special (in .40) but I'm not ready to pony up that much cash... yet. Thanks in advance for all who take the time to help a guy out.

Prop

A good used gun is often a superb value, especially since, being your first gun, you may decide you prefer something else. With the money you save over buying new, you buy LOTS of ammo and get what your really need: Practice..

I wasn't all that enamored of my Glock and no longer own it. If you like the fit and feel, consider the M&P.

You'll have the joy of a new gun with a lifetime warranty, the "first on the block" thrill and a solid firearm.

Hint: Swap out the "Mass. trigger" and put in a GOOD one!

The m&p is striker fired like a glock but with a 10lbs trigger pull but like Scrivener said change out the trigger. The 6906 is a sa/da trigger and is a all stainless gun.

The m&p is striker fired like a glock but with a 10lbs trigger pull but like Scrivener said change out the trigger. The 6906 is a sa/da trigger and is a all stainless gun.