• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

First C&R Pistol w/ a bit of a mystery

So, my first C&R Pistol arrived--M57 Tokarev. At this point it seems like I've become a "Commie collector" since nearly all of my surplus firearms (and indeed some of my non-C&R pieces) save for my M1s and my Enfield are from Warsaw pact countries.

I'm by no means an expert on C&R pistols or M57s, but this one seems a bit interesting. Everything I've been able to find points to the C prefix M57s being 1960 or 1961--but this one not only has what my eyes deem to be the six torch crest (didn't know they had them, but it's pretty cool to me) as well as the SFRJ grips which mark it as 1963-1964.

So, for those more knowledgeable about C&R pistols, what say you? Is it normal to add the crest and/or updated grips during a refurb? My guess is that maybe it started in 1960-1 and was updated later with the new grips and/or crest? That seems kind of strange to add later on.

As an aside, the condition overall is quite nice. Found it cheaper than "you know who" plus a surplus mag at a better price. Feels good in the hand; trigger break is crisp but quite far to the rear. Can definitely see the "inspiration" of the 1911 with the link on the barrel and whatnot.

Cleaning this plus my other acquisition (new LCP2) made for quite an enjoyable day off.

Attachments

• crest.jpg
    crest.jpg
    82.8 KB · Views: 72
  • m57.jpg
    m57.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 71
  • m57-2.jpg
    m57-2.jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 75
Last edited:
simplest solution is most likely, slide got swapped at some point with a later one. I don't remember if there's s/n on the slide or not so if there's not then there's your answer.

Finally got this out to the range after sourcing some ammo. It had no problem blowing up a water-filled gallon jug.
20180805_180800.jpg