• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Firearms Safety course rip-offs

Hi guys
Thanks for the support. I am really not trying to be noble here. I'm new at the gun store thing so I may be a little more sensitive. I just remember that deer caught in the headlight look she had on her face when she left. I'm pretty sure she is going to take another course so that's good..
Thanks for the feedback

Well, at the risk of beating a dead horse, I had my second one yesterday. You're not going to believe this but the guy didn't know the difference between a revolver and a semi-auto. He asked questions like "What is the black gun on the wall (AR-15)?" and "What do you use it for?"

I started questioning him about was he thinking about getting a license and he said "Oh yes, I just got my Class A LTC and I want to buy the gun with the biggest bullets."

When I finally convinced him that he really needed to at least hold a gun in his hand (He had never held one) or better yet go somewhere and fire it, I handed a pistol to him and he promptly put his finger on the trigger and started pointing it around the shop.

I mean what kind of education course doesn't at least ram that home? We tried to get him to take one of our courses for the shooting time if nothing else but he wouldn't have any part of it.
He had his license in hand and that was it.

I'm not writing this to make fun of the guy. He was almost child-like in his ignorance. I guess I'm just going to have to get used to it and realize that in a free country this is just going to happen.

PS the woman who caused me to start this whole thing did sign up for our course!!

There will always be those that "get away".

What I find amazing is that after 9 years of teaching, I've yet to put a name from the news into my database of past students and get a match.