• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Finding a place to hunt...Turkeys.

ccm75

NES Member
This sort of parallels the 2017-2020 Spring Turkey threads...

Ya, I scored a jake this am.
But I have been hunting this small private farm for two years and it's a real honey hole.
This is how I found my "private" hunting land....I have never been there for a morning without seeing or hearing birds....

After years of trying to hunt turkeys on my local WMA and other local state land I was totally frustrated.
There were birds there, but either you couldn't pull them away from the neighborhoods or there were too many hunters, dog walkers or mountain bikers...

I was finally inspired by a Meateater Podcast to scout hunting land using Google Maps, find private land and then go knock on a door and ask permission to hunt.
You know, the way I did it when I was a kid back in the 70's in upstate NY - Knock on a door and ask permission.

I live in Northboro and started scouting adjacent towns to the north.......Just cruising around on satellite view I found a farm adjacent to a huge tract of public land with rolling hills and mixed cover.
There was water, hardwoods, soft woods and open fields. It looked great, remote and off the beaten path.

One afternoon on my way home from work I drove around the area and then slowly went by the farm and farm house that obviously owned the land. It looked like a great place to hunt deer an turkeys..
An older gentlemen was in the door yard heading to the house....So I swung in the driveway and knocked on the door.....I could see the gentlemen in his kitchen but he couldn't hear my knocking.
So I knocked louder and finally got the dog barking and the cats coming to the door.