• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

FA-10 needed?

So I'm new to all this, if my grandfather wants to give me a 38 special he bought way back when in RI (where he still lives) do I have to fill out the FA-10 form? go through an FFL? or any of that? Thanks in advance, just want to be certain.

Rob

hows it going. Newb here with a question I may get slammed for asking. But I have been looking all over the site for an answer and couldnt find one, I apologize in advance if I missed it. I just got my class A unrestricted here in Mass. I dont own a gun yet. My dad has quite a collection and he lives in Mass as well. He wants to give me some guns to use and down the line will prob inherit some. My question was is it legal for him to give/loan me the guns? I am not sure if his guns are registered or not and Im not even sure if I need to register every gun he loans/gives me. Any help on this or pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance
magg

It doesn't matter if they are registered in MA or not. Meaningless. (MA doesn't make registration compulsory, only reporting transfers, and in some situations acquisitions as an MA resident.).

If he is an MA resident and he has a valid LTC, he can FTF 4 of them per calendar year to you. You can also move some via an FFL, no problem.

If he is unlicensed (or out of state) they will all have to go through an FFL.

Inheritance is a whole other ball of wax, of course.

-Mike

My question was is it legal for him to give/loan me the guns?

There is nothing prohibiting you from borrowing firearms from another MA resident.

As Mike said, if your father is licensed, he can transfer ownership to you of up to 4 firearms per calendar year.

A FA-10 must be submitted by the transferor for each firearm within 7 days.

If he is unlicensed, any transfers must be effected by a FFL.