• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Everything about Mylar Bags and Oxygen Absorbers

FrugalFannie

NES Member
I have to first say, YouTube rocks!

I have been using mylar bags and oxygen absorbers for several years for LTS. So I was tooling around and thought I would share a few videos with y'all.

This first one is basic but tells you how to know if your absorber is good or bad (and no, it's not the pink tab in the bag that tells you this!) as well as a few other tips like how to store unused absorbers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUfh9Th69Dw

Last edited:
My bag didn't contract! Oh no!

My Bag Didn't Contract, are my absorbers bad???

In almost all cases (99.99%), most certainly not! Our oxygen absorbers are used by food processing companies worldwide, and there is no way they would accept a product that only worked 'some of the time'. Also, because we sell pallets of oxygen absorbers every month in both retail and wholesale quantities, we are always turning them and have the freshest stock available.

There are several reasons your bags might not contract. For example, there are certain types of foods that will almost never contract, such as very dense foods like flour and very fluffy foods like oats. A second reason bags may not contract is they are only removing the 20% of oxygen we talked about above. Meaning the bag will always have the 80% nitrogen remaining inside (nitrogen is inert, so that is ok!). In some cases, you can even be storing the same type of food and notice some bags compress and some bags do not. This can be caused by just a tiny variation in the amount of headspace (air) remaining in each bag.