Dual use shotgun recommendations

Ae1m

NES Member
I would like to find a good shotgun with changeable barrels for deer (slugs) and waterfowl or perhaps turkey with a barrel that will accept the proper choke. Any quick suggestions? I went on my first deer hunt in NH this past week with my 30.06 now looking to perhaps hunt shotgun in MA. Not really interested in muzzle-loader hunting (an not interested in discussing that please!)

Thanks,
Bob

Remington 870. It'll do anything you want. Lots of aftermarket parts, rifled barrels, etc etc etc.

I have a 70's or 80's wingmaster that I adore.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

A lot of options out there for what you are looking for. Remington 870 and Mossberg 500 both offer packages with both barrels if you want a pump. If you want a really nice semi auto and have deep(er) pockets, go with a Benelli and you will not be sorry that you did.

Mossy 500 or remmy 870. They are nothing fancy but will get the job done. My mossy 500 is my go to hunting gun.

Dicks ways runs a sale on the field/deer combo Missy 500 this time of year.

I've got a Mossberg 535 pump, w/turkey & slug barrels. My only gripe -- it rattles a bit. Never had a problem with it. The Mossberg has the manual safety on the tang, while the Remington has a cross bolt safety. I do prefer a cross bolt safety, over a tang mounted one.

All the above suggestions.

If you want a semi auto get an 11-87 or 590 Mossberg Again Barrels cheap and easy to find with Remington or Mossberg

You get into Beretta/Benelli guns are great, but barrels are expensive and tough to find.

Rifled slug barrels are a bit overrated, you can get by with shooting smoothbore foster slugs.

Unless you are running a scope, then it's probably worth getting a cantilever mount, and most of those barrels are rifled.

Any barrel you can hunt waterfowl with, you can hunt Turkey with.

All the above suggestions.