• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

DPS and transferring long guns.-- Removing ones name from there data base

I understand this is off base a little but the legal knowledge possessed by many on this board, and others related to firearms is immense and may provide an answer for me.

Simply put, after selling/transferring a long gun on a face to face transfer in state(ct) i do not want my name associated with it as the last owner. ( i bought this rifle at a CT dealer so they did the original paperwork)

I have read on other forums that it is simply a matter of calling DPS special licensing unit an advising them that the long gun originally purchased by myself has been legally sold/transferred and is no longer in my possession, nothing more. however, I have no first hand knowledge of this.

- Any one have experience with this? Second, how does one get the printout of what firearms are associated with an owner? I'd like to check up on DPS's accuracy in regards to what firearms i have in my possession.
thanks in advance,

The best way to get the gun removed from an association with you is to call for an approval code and sending in a DPS-3 form, just like you would if you did a face to face transfer of a handgun

But it sounds like its a bit late for that. If the buyer is someone you know you may want to call for a code now. In theory, he would transfer the gun back to you, then you would retransfer it to him with an approval code.

I've heard of people getting the gun removed from their file after sending in a sworn, notarized affidavit. But the state still wanted to know who it went to. That can be difficult if the gun is sold out of state.