Don't think you'd find this in any of our papers around here

MrsWildweasel

NES Member
So I'll share this,got off another site....

This ran in today's Free-Lance Star, Fredericksburg, Va.

B AGHDAD--My name is Daniel Wardlow. I grew up in Fredericks- burg. I graduated from James Monroe High School.

I would like to thank you. I know that so many of you support those like myself who are serving in Iraq.

My parents, who as you can imagine are worried to death about their son, live in Fredericksburg. I have been blessed with an awesome family that supports me, a city that supports the military, and a president who goes out of his way for the troops in Iraq.

Iraq seems horrible because of my fallen brothers and sisters in arms. However, we are doing so much more than dying over here. I want you to know that the people of Iraq have thanked me for helping them become free. These people have a new look on life.

If you have children, I want you to look at them. Imagine them having bloated bellies because of hunger. Imagine them not having clothes, or having to run barefoot, not for fun, but because they have no shoes.

Look at their smiles. Watch them as they play. The reason for their safety is America's military, stopping things before they happen, and making a difference abroad and at home.

If you have a mother, father, wife, or husband, look at them and imagine them hurt, killed, or kidnapped for the sake of tyranny. Realize how much you love them. Don't take those you love for granted.

I volunteered for this job. I didn't want the fight to be in my parents' kitchen or bedroom. I didn't want the fight to be in your home. I didn't want the horror on American soil once again. War is ugly, but innocent Americans shouldn't have to worry about death and carnage.