• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Does anyone else have this problem with 1911's

paracarry

NES Member
I have been shooting handguns for over 35 years and have owned many different 1911's over the years. Over the past few years when I shoot, the bottom part of my trigger finger gets chewed up by the hole in the face of the trigger, it does not matter how or where I place my finger on the trigger, after a few shots skin is missing and I am bleeding. usually I put a Band-Aid on first and can get through a range session. I did have the hole in the face of the trigger beveled and the serrations smoothed up a bit on a couple of them that helped a little bit. I shot my new Sig ultra compact yesterday put a Band-Aid on first and shot 100 rounds. the trigger chewed through the Band-Aid and my finger. I love my 1911's but it's getting painful! never had the problem before. Do they make a trigger without the trigger stop adjustment hole? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Leave the sarcasm to a minimum. Greg Derr feel free to comment, they may be heading your way.

They make about 9000 1911 triggers you just need to get one that is set up different. You can even get a solid if you want, probably.

-Mike

Should be easy enough to take the trigger out and fill the hole with quick setting JB Weld after de-greasing... Or like drgrant said find a solid trigger the right length.

John

YES. I am and it's driving me crazy! Thank you for starting this thread lol. I have a DW Pointman 9 that's had an action job - 3.5 pounds. I tried using sandpaper to smooth out the trigger serrations but I need to fill in the over travel screw hole as I develop a blister after 150 rounds.