• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Do you HAVE to allow an armed IRS agent in your house?

Question to piggy back off this one: If you just flat out asked any federal agent "Do I have to let you in", are they obligated to answer truthfully?
No, they can lie to you. Don't ask questions. Just say "I don't consent to a search and I don't consent for you to enter my home/business. I won't answer questions without my attorney. Leave me your business card and i will have my attorney contact you." They will respond with a different question or statement. Don't answer their question, just repeat the above.

But it isn't going to happen this way. Audits don't start with an auditor showing up at your door. Audits start with a letter.

I’m sure we’ve all heard by now about how many new irs agents there are, and that they’re now armed. As a small business owner, I feel it’s inevitable that I’ll get audited sooner or later, and was curious if I have any rights to refuse an armed agent entry to my home without a warrant.
I’m not asking how to refuse an auditor into my home, just to tell them they’re not allowed to have a brandished weapon on them while they’re in my home.

I’ve asked some friends who aren’t very pro gun and they responded with “cops are armed, if you call 911 they will be coming into your house armed.” But my response to that is that I called them for help and thereby invited them to my home. A tax auditor is not a welcomed guest, they tell us we HAVE to be audited. I don’t call them and ask them to come audit me.