• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Discrete preparedness gear at work

I work in a school setting, so there are limits to the type of gear I can have on hand at work. This means I have to be a bit creative in thinking about ways to be prepared for a worst case scenario in school, which for me would be the active shooter scenario. (I have a GHB in the car and don't work far from home, so not too worried about most other disaster related scenarios.)

Anyway, I came across this item on ebay and thought I would share. It's the type of thing that doesn't really stand out much, but could provide a small measure of protection in a bad situation and in my opinion something is always better than nothing. It fits in a briefcase or backpack and provides a IIIa level of protection. (Won't protect against a rifle round.)

s-l1600.jpg

I also keep a trauma kit and a hammer (you know for hanging up stuff) in my office.

Anyway, do any of you work in similar restrictive environments and do you have any unique methods of "prepping" at work?

I prefer integrated preparedness gear over discrete gear

With dual-use items, less need to be discreet.

At our California office we had earthquake kits in every room, contained a lot of useful gear and also justified having additional prepardness stuff handy.

Nice idea. Hide in plain sight. Maybe put (store) some duct tape on back. When lock-down happens and you hear pops down the hall, tape it to your chest under your shirt.

That's pretty interesting. I'd be curious to see if it will actually stop a high powered handgun round. It's definitely more subtle than hanging a plate carrier in the corner of your classroom. [rofl]

Why not just order a 12x18 sheet of AR500 3/8 I believe will stop a .308