• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Did I destroy my Sig barrel?

bob6180

NES Member
So... Might have to blame the whistle pig on this one..

The other night I was sipping my new favorite rye (found here on NES) and was browsing You Tube videos on upgrades for my Sig. I watched a video on barrel polishing and immediately grabbed my Sig, stripped it and put the barrel in vinegar.

The next morning I walked back into the kitchen to take the dog out and spotted the barrel still sitting in the glass. I took it out and rinsed/scrubbed it down. I checked it later and there is light surface rust on the inside of the barrel. A bore snake helped but I'm concerned that I did some permanent damage.

Total noob when it comes to gunsmithing (obviously)

soo.. How bad is it?

I destroyed a $300 Antique Sewing Machine trying to clean it up with vinegar.

I was an Idiot.

You were as well.

We both learned expensive lessons.

Life goes on.

Put cartridges in it and shoot it. If it's still accurate, who cares.... just don't do that again. [laugh] It's never a good idea to leave a barrel in most solvents overnight unless its something pretty benign.

-Mike

The other night I was sipping my new favorite rye (found here on NES) and was browsing You Tube videos on upgrades for my Sig. I watched a video on barrel polishing and immediately grabbed my Sig, stripped it and put the barrel in vinegar.

The next morning I walked back into the kitchen to take the dog out and spotted the barrel still sitting in the glass. I took it out and rinsed/scrubbed it down. I checked it later and there is light surface rust on the inside of the barrel. A bore snake helped but I'm concerned that I did some permanent damage.

soo.. How bad is it?

I destroyed a $300 Antique Sewing Machine trying to clean it up with vinegar.

I was an Idiot.

You were as well.

We both learned expensive lessons.