• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

dark bore K98

mac1911

NES Member
So I have a RC 1944 K98 mixed bag rifle. I bought this rifle for a ok price knowing the bore was very dark and crusty. It cleaned up ok and with a liitle help I was able to get this rifle from minute of back stop to holding the black of a NRA SR1 high power target.
The trigger is pretty darn good on this one. has a consistent 5lb total pull. the first stage is a bit "clinky" but breaks nice.

I have been shooting cast loads through this rifle for aprox 2 years now. with 200 rounds down the pipe since I started shooting cast I was happy to see theres not a lot of leading considering the pitting. especially the last inch or so of the barrel. The fact this barrel shoots at all is a showing that the bore does not need to be prestine to shoot well enough... I plan on shooting a cmp 200 yard match with my cast loads this summer and I am planning on shooting into the mid 400s if I can keep my off hand in check.

the crusty bore

the dark bore k98
shes not pretty and the muzzle end is quite pitted and worn vs the rest of the bore. leads me to think that this rifle was stored poorly and the elements got at the first inch of the bore
https://www.northeastshooters.com/v...-hope-for-a-dark-bore-K98?highlight=dark+bore

Last edited by a moderator:
The crown looks good I had my 1st 303 Brit had a the worst bore I ever seen it would cut the patches when cleaning it it shot very good. I got it at a gun show packed in greese so I didn't check the bore I would never payed for a gun with out seeing the bore.

The crown looks good I had my 1st 303 Brit had a the worst bore I ever seen it would cut the patches when cleaning it it shot very good. I got it at a gun show packed in greese so I didn't check the bore I would never payed for a gun with out seeing the bore.