CT Pistol Permit and legal OUI Limit

TL;DR: Was told CT pistol permit holders have a lower BAC limit while driving regardless of whether or not they are carrying. Is this true?

I'm a MA resident with my LTC, but am going to graduate school in CT and am looking to get a CT pistol permit in order to have some of my handguns with me at my off campus apartment. I was taking the NRA basic pistols class in order to apply for the permit and the instructor informed me that in CT, having a pistol permit meant the legal alcohol limit for driving was cut in half to .04 BAC, regardless of if they are carrying or not. In doing research after the class, I can't find evidence of this anywhere. Is this true?

Smells like pure bullshit, unless this only applies to "when carrying a loaded firearm".

-Mike

HB20 during the 2016 legislative session changed the BAC level to 0.08 from 0.10 which triggers the presumptive violation of the laws prohibition of carrying a loaded firearm while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. I don't believe this is what you are talking about, however it is the most recent relevant change to the BAC levels with regard to carrying. I am unaware of any 'special' 0.04 threshold for permit holders. I would also like to know the instructor and the context in his discussion.

Here's a copy of the 2016 law I referenced.
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/TOB/s/pdf/2016SB-00020-R00-SB.pdf

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Possessing a pistol permit DOES not reduce the per-se BAC threshold for DUI or carrying a loaded firearm while intoxicated.

It is important to keep in mind that as with DUI, the law pertaining to carrying a loaded firearm while intoxicated does make it possible for a person to be guilty EVEN IF their level of intoxication is less than the per-se threshold "under the influence" (which is based on effect of intoxication).