1. If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

2. Dismiss Notice

Crash Bars: It's going to happen... I know it...

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by matt, Aug 23, 2009.

1. matt

matt

I've just got my first bike (Honda VT1100 Sabre), and I'm just learning to ride. So, planning for the inevitable... can anyone recommend a good set of crash bars so I can limit my damage to the bike?

I know there's some folks out there with cruiser style bike. What are you using?

How about saddle bags?

And while I'm at it (though I'm not convinced I want one), any recommendations on a wind screen?

Oh, yeah. I case you missed it in the august acquisitions:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Thanks,
    Matt

Last edited: Aug 23, 2009
  2. appraiser

appraiser NES Member

I have Cortech soft bags I use on my rice bike, really nice stuff that pops on and off easily. Are you looking for the HD look or are you looking for functional detachable water resistant stuff.

I'd check the Honda parts catalog to see if there are factory case guards.

3. appraiser

appraiser NES Member

PS please be careful my riding buddy is in MGH , lost his lower leg and knee so far and more surgery set for the AM. Sideswiped a truck.

4. Franco

Franco

get OEM crash bars from Honda..they will fit the bike better then aftermarket

5. zeppelinfromled

zeppelinfromled

I can't recommend crash bars, but I can recommend that you take an MSF course if you haven't.

6. FiremanBob

FiremanBob NES Member

Absolutely take the MSF course if you want to learn the easy way, and avoid learning the hard way.

7. appraiser

appraiser NES Member

+++++ 100 on MSF, and if you've taken the basic course, sign up for the advanced one

8. matt

matt

MFS course will be coming soon.

There's one in Garnder/Orange and one in Worcester. Anyone have any personal experience with these folks?