• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Coyote Hunting MA

Hey ya'll
I'm interested in hearing about your coyote hunting experience here in mass. Whether you hunt open fields, in a stand, what kinds of calls you use, shotgun or rifle. Total coyote noob here so any tips and tricks you've learned along the way I'm all ears. [smile]

The major lesson I learned -- be ready! On my first stand, I had a coyote come trotting into a call so quickly that my lack of preparedness left me unable to place a shot.

Someone is taking me this year to go, Im not sure who yet, But Im sure someone will step up and take me under their wing and invite me to go with them.[smile]

Ive mostly hunted over bait piles. Used a FoxPro caller some until it broke in the back of my car. As far as guns ive used my AR for most of my kills. My .22 for one at night. I like hunting at night.

I was thinking about doing some coyote hunting after the new year but I've never done it at all. I have a good idea where to go, how to call/ attract the animal. I'm confused about the firearm regulations though. Can I hunt with some type of AR? Is there a reg. limiting the # of rounds I can have loaded? This would most likely be in MA zone 10.

In MA, rifle restrictions apply only to night hunting -- nothing chambered larger than .22LR

WwcVtr8.png

BA1ERR6.png

Thanks for the advice Pup and that chart has some important info.
Hey Isaac what's your go to bait for that pile? Or do you just use whatever you have readily available?

What do you guys use for light for night hunting coyotes...i know you can't use any artificial light... use night vision scope/goggles?