• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Convert AR to be legal in MA?

I own an AR-15 that I keep at my parents house in ME, I bought it while I was a resident there. I would like to keep this at my house in MA which I have now been a resident for 4 years. Specifically I own this model -> MPC - Windham Weaponry Online. AR-15 Manufacturer

Is it possible for me to convert this to be MA legal? And if so, what would that consist of specifically?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Legal question? Practical question?

Maura says no, you can’t do that. The law would seem to say otherwise.

Pin stock or replace with a fixed stock
Replace A2 flash hider with muzzle break and pin/weld.
Grind off bayonet lug.

No one has been prosecuted for Marua’s made up silliness, but if she wins her open law suits it could happen. You have to decide your own risk profile.

All ARs not in private hands in MA and registered before 6/20/2016 are illegal per AG
Once an assault rifle always an assault rifle per AG which says you can’t massify it to make it legal

Or you can just do what people have always done and do what I posted above and call it a day.

No one has been prosecuted for Marua’s made up silliness, but if she wins her open law suits it could happen. You have to decide your own risk profile.

All ARs not in private hands in MA and registered before 6/20/2016 are illegal per AG
Once an assault rifle always an assault rifle per AG which says you can’t massify it to make it legal

Or you can just do what people have always done and do what I posted above and call it a day.

So you are saying that regardless of her BS, people are still bringing MA compliant (pre-Maura memo) AR's into the state with no issue?