• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Considering Multi-focal Contacts...

TLB

I have been wearing cheaters for a few years now (I'm old, but not as old as dirt yet) and they work fine usually - unless the angle of view is outside of the lens (I do a lot of work with my hands on a daily basis). But they are a pain - falling on the ground, putting on and off constantly, etc. etc.

I have good vision at distance and have never worn contacts. I have bifocal sunglasses (no script at distance and cheaters in the bottom to see the dashboard while driving). While I have never worn contacts, I really am thinking of trying multi-focal contacts. It seems to work better than the old monovision method from what I have read on the internet.

Curious to hear people's success stories or not with multi-focal contact lenses and what type they are...concentric, aspheric, or segmented. I am more intrigued by concentric and ashperic because sometimes I need to see close above my head, not just looking down my nose.

One concern I have is whether the close up vision is clear enough for fine detail work.

Also, have no idea of cost.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I wear multifocal lenses and I love them. Mine are reverse, I see perfect up close and need help at distance. I tried several brands and settled on Alcon Dailies Total 1. They are expensive but worth it.

I haven’t tried the multi-focals, my eye doctor says most patients who try them don’t like them. I have had mono vision lens for years and for me it works well.

I haven’t tried the multi-focals, my eye doctor says most patients who try them don’t like them. I have had mono vision lens for years and for me it works well.
I think that information is outdated from what I have read. Many places talk about 70 to 80% success rate or higher with modern multi-focal lenses.