Connecticut Non Resident CCW process

expedition03

NES Member
I'm a MA resident, want to apply for the Non resident CT pistol permit. It says to call for app, no problem. What certificate will they take to show live fire. I did the Mass Firearms School Basic Pistol with live fire, and Utah non resident. Also if they take either or, is there a time limit they have to had be taken? I wanted to ask before I called if someone knew that went through the process. Thanks.

Did not go through the non-res process. Did the harder res process. I’m not certain which training would be approved but there is no expiration date for the training. If any of the courses are NRA-sanctioned they should be fine. Once you apply, you’ll be put through the background check and as long are you’re not statutorily DQ’ed, you’ll be mailed your permit. It is easier than a resident permit where it is to go through the local issuing authority.

Yes they must be NRA approved courses (LTC-002) if I remember correctly. The basic handgun safety course I took locally wasn’t sufficient for the CT non-res. I had to take LTC-002 course in order to get the permit.

Call them up and ask for the package. Their pretty freindly and anwered a couple of my questions.

BTW... the package is a PITA... fingerprints, multiple forms need a notery, copies of your MA stuff, 3 separate checks.

I mailed mine in like 2 months ago and am still waiting.

At least when I did mine, the MA course wasn't sufficient. I took CT non-res course offered by MFS. They also did the fingerprints and provided the forms. Sent it all in and got the license back in a few weeks. Was pretty painless. I don't recall, but I don't think the Utah course was sufficient either.

What are the minimum firearms training course requirements for pistol permit applicants?