Concealed Carry Narragansett

I am a Mass resident with a house in Narragansett. I have my Mass LTC A and was wondering what the COP was like in Narragansett concerning CC permit. Non-res or resident. I thought I would take the temperature here before contacting them.

According to the RIFOL pistol permit survey, Narragansett had not issued a single resident permit in 2009, none were active and generally they would not issue any permit. They were supposed to be working on an application process but up until then they had sent everybody up to the AG. Although towns can issue nonresident permits, I do not know a single person that has a non-resident town permit. There were less than 300 known town permits in 2009. I suspect you will not have much luck with Narragansett but you can always give it a try...

RI makes no distinction between resident and non-resident. By law the chief there should issue you a permit. For RI towns that do issue permits the main obstacle in issuing to non-residents is that they don't want a reputation of doing so such that every out of stater wanting to carrying in RI comes to them.

If you're not afraid of ruffling a few feathers and have a couple of dollars to spend on a lawyer, PM me your email and I'll help you get started.

RI makes no distinction between resident and non-resident.

"By law" does not really apply in Rhode Island. I can guarantee that every chief makes the distinction in practice, regardless of the actual statute. The way most cops in Rhode Island operate is by making assumptions about the law, specifically assuming that if the law does not address a thing, it doe not exist. Yes, you can technically get a nonresident Town permit. I am still unaware of the existence of a single one. They may be out there but I suspect they are like hens teeth...