• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Concealed carry for the first time....

I took the opportunity to christen my conceal carry permit, and carried in public for the first time today. The question is how long does it take to get used to the fact you have a gun on your person? I swear I thought everyone was staring at me, causing me to check it every 5 minutes. Probably just paranoid.

I still (2 months; weekends+nights only) am paranoid that my gun is showing when I CC around MA. If I'm in NH or VT I totally forget I have it.

I still (2 months; weekends+nights only) am paranoid that my gun is showing when I CC around MA. If I'm in NH or VT I totally forget I have it.

I'm sort of the same way though I still carry every day whenever possible.
I've been carrying for 3 months.

Just go to walmart. Most of the people walking around there woldnt notice if you had a bazooka under your coat, they are so oblivious.

The novelty wears off pretty quick, although for me, it was quite a little while before I got used to the feeling of walking into banks armed.

The thing about carrying is, after awhile you just start assuming most people around you are packing too, and like Jim says, it just becomes a tool you're carrying around and not thinking about. Unless you drop a magazine on the floor at Home Depot or forget your piece in the stall or something.[laugh]

Last edited:
It takes a little while. Fortunately, most people are clueless, so it doesn't take much effort or skill to conceal a bright yellow crew cab duelie long-bed pickup truck from them, let alone something as small as a handgun.

I'm still getting used to it; haven't carried much but am getting better about that. And nope, no one's noticed the "bulge" on my right hip. My fiancee doesn't even notice when I'm carrying.