• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Combat .357 Mag Model, 19, 66, or 686

I wanted one of the guns that shot 10mm/40 on the clips, but for the money, I think I will just go with a 66 when I find one.

I have a 19-4. Awesome revolver.
I hunt w/ it.
357.jpg

I just started shooting my model 66 in IDPA. I'm using these speedloaders: http://www.brownells.com/1/1/13116-revolver-jetloader-k-jetloader-buffer-technologies.html

And these speedloader holders: http://www.cpwsa.com/ready_tactical.htm

Revolvers in IDPA is a hoot.

I use the Comp III's with this mod: Will also work on the Jet's I believe.

Speedloader Safariland Comp III Modification
The process is this: With the Safariland comp III’s have a two piece top with a pin hole on one side. Heat a straightened paperclip and push it through the existing hole to mark the other side and drill a small hole back to the steel roll pin. The Jet loaders have the hole all the way through.
Push the roll pin through the hole and remove the top so that the shroud and large coil spring can be removed. Toss the shroud, I don’t know why t is there in the first place.

In the center of the loader is another pin, push it out carefully as there a small coil spring in the trigger mechanism. This should allow you to separate the part that the rounds fit into from the rest. Using a belt sander, or similar device, remove the part down to about .3 of inch

Use an exacto knife or similar to remove the plastic that will fill the holes where the rounds fit. 

And then reassemble paying attention to the right tension of the coil spring before putting the top back on. I would disassemble and work on only one at a time until you get confident with the process.

Bill used a dremel and cut the parts down with a cutoff wheel. I could not keep the surface flat and it will take several wheels to do the job.