Class Review: Haley Strategic D5 Handgun at Sig Academy

I spent this past Monday through Wednesday at the Sig Academy as they were hosting Haley Strategic Partners for their D5 Handgun (Aug 29-31) and Carbine (Sept 1-3) courses. I signed up for the D5 handgun course last winter when they were posted. I would have loved to do the carbine course but due to time and financial restrictions I stuck to pistol.

My background: USMC infantry reserves 2008-2014 when I got out as a Sergeant, OEF in 2011. I spent part of my time in Afghanistan in an embedded training team teaching infantry tactics and machinegunnery to the Jordanian Armed Forces. I never received pistol training in the USMC, though I imagine I shot more than 100K rounds, primarily from beltfed machineguns and rifles. I started shooting pistols with friends at 18 and got my LTC at 21, which is up for renewal soon. I shoot a fair bit, probably a few K pistol rounds a year. As everyone does, Id like to shoot more.