• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

clarity on carrying in an automobile

I will have my CT carry permit shortly and I am studying the laws so I remain compliant. The question I can't find answers to is: If you have a pistol permit, is it legal to carry a loaded pistol in your vehicle? All I read is how it must be locked in a case if you carry in a vehicle. It never states that a pistol permit overrides that. I copied the verbage below. Can anyone answer with certainty? Thank

law copied:

Motor Vehicles

By law, when handguns are being transported in a motor vehicle, they must be unloaded and kept (1) in a place not readily or directly accessible from the passenger compartment or (2) in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console (CGS § 29-35). A violation carries a penalty of one to five years imprisonment, a fine of up to $1,000, or both, with a mandatory minimum one-year sentence in the absence of mitigating circumstances (CGS § 29-37).

Last edited: