Chrono'd my 45 reloads for the first time. How'd I do?

Rockrivr1

NES Member
So I finally was able to Chrono my 45 loads to see where I stand. This is the first and only rounds I reload right now and they have shot pretty good for me, but up until yesterday I had no idea of how they were performing. I ran 6 rounds through the Chrono and got the following readings

Average of 757
Power Factor = 174
13% Standard Deviation

Seeing this is my first time using a Chrono I'm thinking these results are pretty good. I was shooting for a load that would make Major in USPSA and shoot well for me. The accuracy is there and I'm above the 165 PF needed to make Major.

My question though is should I try to tweak this some more to get a little bit lower power factor and try to reduce the standard deviation or would it be more of a hassle then it's worth?

Tweak or leave be?

It's a disease don't start. :)

It seems that you are using 230s right?

What bullet type, powder, charge, OAL, mixed brass, etc?

Lowering the charge to lower the velocities won't lower your SD.

Standard deviation is a calculation of the spread between all your shots.

Typically you want to shoot a minimum of 10 rounds to get good readings.

13% is pretty good if you are loading on a progressive with random cases.

I can get a SD of 6-8% on 9mm with random cases and using my Dillon 650 but 45 seems to be more case sensitive. I have gotten down to 13.1% but that could be a fluke.

Outside temperature and humidity can affect the velocity so don't try to get too close to the minimum pf.

I would say 50 fps above provides enough buffer so you may be good where you are.

Take some more reading with a larger number of rounds and post back.

I think this thread may belong in the reloading section.

If this load is shooting well for you, is accurate, and you are able to manage the recoil sufficiently to meet your goals in competition, I would leave them right were they are.

PS. Moving to Reloading Forum.