• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Carry Options for Gigging Musician

M&P

To start, I did a search for this. If it's a dupe, please shoot me a link!

In addition to my suit and tie job, I'm a gigging musician on the weekends. I carry at almost every gig I play, which includes music clubs, venues, bars etc. Some venues that have recently been booked will be taking me to some not so savory places after the gigs done, at 2am. I'm just not a big fan of moving 30k in gear in places like that without sufficient protection.

I generally pocket carry a .380 at gigs, but want to pack something with a little more punch/ control and faster accessibility. Despite practice at the range, my pocket draws are still on the slow side. The problem is, I'm in front of literally hundreds of people playing music, moving gear (which means a lot of bending/ reaching that isn't so great for keeping a cover garment covering) etc.

Any working musicians out there who do anything besides pocket carry? If so, what are your options?

Currently, I'm considering appendix carry with an incog or a crossbreed appendix for guns I already own - a shield or G19. I figure it will be covered well by my guitar most of the night. The crossbreed will also allow me to tuck an undergarment into it. Also, I own a few 5.11 holster shorts which I can hypothetically fit the shield in, but it definitely prints.

My normal IWB won't work - too much reaching for gear and moving around in front of too many people. Lastly, there's a certain expectation about my appearance, and wearing overly large garments like I would normally do for concealment isn't an option.

Would love ideas from everyone and shared experiences from any other gigging musicians!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk