• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Carl Sagan's Baloney Detector and Anti Gun Arguments

vickers

NES Member
I stumbled on this today and thought it was interesting. This was written by Carl Sagan in the book The Demon-Haunted World: Science as a Candle in the Dark published a short while before his death.

https://www.brainpickings.org/2014/01/03/baloney-detection-kit-carl-sagan/ It's not a long article but my summarization follows...

He outlines several examples of invalid arguments or strategies that are red flags that Baloney is afoot. I think the anti gun crowd uses many if not all of these in their attacks on the second amendment, hunting and general gun ownership. My take on these are in the parens.

- ad hominem attack (attacking the arguer not the argument)
- argument from authority (the "because I am an expert/politician/celebrity and I say so" argument)
- argument from adverse consequences (You have to do SOMETHING because otherwise bad things will happen)
- appeal to ignorance (if it hasn't been proven false, it must be true or vice versa)
- special pleading (if you point out a logical inconsistency the response is "You don't understand/appreciate <something>...)
- assuming the answer (kind of a causation vs.correlation argument. If this is true, this <thing i claim> must be true.)
- observational selection (cherry picking examples or data favorable to your argument)
- statistics of small numbers
- misunderstanding the nature of statistics (both of these deal with misunderstanding and/or cherry picking statistical analysis)
- inconsistency (penny wise, pound foolish. reacting differently to similar issues or events depending on ideology/agenda)
- non sequitur (disconnects in logic)
- post hoc, ergo propter hoc (causation vs. correlation)
- meaningless question (unanswerable question designed to confuse the argument)