• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Can I shoot Federal M855 "Green Tip" at Mass Rifle?

daveshrews

NES Member
I made my first trip to Riley's in Hooksett today and found a great deal on 5.56 bulk ammo. I'm fairly new to shooting AR's, and didn't realize until I got home that it was Federal green tip, which seems to be a hybrid penetrative ammo.

Does anyone know if I can shoot this on the Loeb range at MRA? I know they specifically say "no armor piercing rounds", but I don't know if this classifies as that.

Thanks in advance.

I'd ask before shooting it. I know it's not a true AP round, but it does have steel so some fudd might consider it a violation of the rules.

[cerberus];3270834 said:
If you are shooting at a dirt berm it is ok (Pending any specific club rules), but if you are talking an indoor range, I wouldn't.

The backstop is shredded rubber. So its just like dirt but less dusty. Im a member at Mass Rifle and know the range well. I can tell you unequivocally it wont harm anything. If I can shoot a .338 Lapua Magnum there without problem a little .22 wont do squat.

Also, green tip is considered to be a "penetrator round" It is NOT considered to be AP. It is definitly less of a penetrator than the surplus 7.62x39 that people shoot in there.

Sent from Samsung Note 2

The backstop is shredded rubber. So its just like dirt but less dusty. Im a member at Mass Rifle and know the range well. I can tell you unequivocally it wont harm anything. If I can shoot a .338 Lapua Magnum there without problem a little .22 wont do squat.

Also, green tip is considered to be a "penetrator round" It is NOT considered to be AP. It is definitly less of a penetrator than the surplus 7.62x39 that people shoot in there.

Sent from Samsung Note 2

It's made to penetrate sheet metal like that of cars if I recall.