• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Can I get some tips for my AR build?

I’m new to the AR platform and I own a complete lower that I want to build up. I want help selecting a solid BCG and Barrel for a fair price (would like to stay below $400 for the two). I figure those are the pieces I shouldn’t cheap out on and then I can scavenge for the rest. Is this the way to go? Any and all suggestions are welcome. (Chambered in 5.56)

i love Green Mountain barrels out of Vermont. Have used them in ARs and 22 target rifles. Not overly expensive but great quality. Lot's of info can be had at ar15.com as well. good luck! you have the hard part done (lower)

edit: I guess I fell for the Green Mountain thing. In NH, not VT.

Last edited:
Lantac BCG and upper
Raptor charging handle
Ballistics Advantage barrel with pinned block
Handguard is your personal choice but I like SLR.
Timney or Giesslie trigger
Magpul stock, flip up sights and grips
KAK Flash can
Vortex optic/red dot

Do this and u will have one of those “fully semi-auto, extra killy, shoulder thing that goes up, weapons of war off our streets” rifle! Good luck!
Don’t forget to tax stamp it too!

Ballistic Advantage and Faxon are two barrel makers with a lot of quality for the price. If getting a 16 inch barrel get a midlength gas system.

Don't skimp on the BCG, it needs to have the right specs. I prefer nickleboron or Nitride, but phosphate works fine.

For the BCG, you should look for:

Carrier - 8620 steel with a staked gas key (grade 8 fasteners)

Bolt - 9310 or C158 steel. High Pressure tester(HPT) and Magnetic Particle Inspected (MPI)

Steve at Northeast Arms @sschevy recommended FN cold hammer forged 1:7 twist chrome lined barrels and LMT bolts. The carrier group I just went with a nickel boron from AIM surplus.