• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Buying my first AR

I know this subject has been beat to death, after some reading I still have questions. I am looking at picking up a entry to mid level AR for myself. I will admit I am a AR newbie. What are the preferred options? Is a chrome lined barrel a must? So far I have picked out a few I like. I would appreciate any constructive critiques on these. I am an FFL so my cost will be lower then MSRP obviously. I put them in order of cost:

DPMS PANTHER LO-PRO CLSSC 223REM MSRP $769

BUSHMASTER C-15 223 16" RED DOT 30RD MSRP $865 >>>> My second choice

COLT MAGPUL M4 CARB 5.56 16" FDE 30R MSRP $1299

S&W M&P15MOE MID 556NATO 16" MOE FDE MSRP $1300

SIG M400 5.56X45 30RD 16" FDE M4 MSRP $1300 >>>> My first choice

BUSHMASTER MOE M4 223 16" DE 30RD MSRP $1330

The SIG is my favorite and first choice. The BM is my second choice based on cost. I like all of these and pricing they are all similar ( other then the C-15 and DPMS ). I like the lower cost of the C-15 but feel if I am buying a AR I should buy at least a " mid " level one. Thoughts?

Check out Windham Weaponry... Also would help to know what you want to DO with the rifle... Are you looking for a battle rifle, varmint killer, range queen??

I'd stay away from dpms. Bushmaster I'm not a fan of but that has more todo with the company it self .

S&W got my vote. The first ar I owned I built on one of there lowers.

All good choices you've listed, but personally I'd shy away from Bushmaster and go with Windham Weaponry. Guessing you're looking at a flat top as well so you can then spend a ridonculous amount on an optic at some point, like an ELCAM. My ELCAM is worth about 3 times what my AR is but I feel I'm worth it HA!