• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

building my first AR. tools needed?

I have a lower. I have a parts kit.

I'm a do-it-yourself'er and I'm wondering what tools I'm going to need for the installation.

I know some tools make it easier but what would you guys suggest as necessities and what else as niceties?

I just don't want to spend 10-15 here, 10-20 there for tools that will make it "easier"

Please keep in mind I have never built one before and the parts I've listed below I actually have never seen before :)

Roll Pin Punches
Roll Pin Holders
Pivot Pin Installation Tool
Telescoping Stock Wrench - to tighten telescoping stock lock ring

You can use a clovis pin instead of the pivot pin installation tool.

Clovis Pin - $1.25 or so at Home Depot
Pivot Pin Instalation Tool = $15 or so

Sweet thanks.
I'll pick one up as it's so cheap. Is there a specific size?

You can use a clovis pin instead of the pivot pin installation tool.

Clovis Pin - $1.25 or so at Home Depot
Pivot Pin Instalation Tool = $15 or so

Is this "clovis pin" to be used in place of the normal pivot pin?

Just a lower or upper too? If your doing an upper you cannot live without an upper receiver block to hold it while you're installing the barrel.

So what I gather is:
Get a punch set for under $20
Get a roll pin punch set
Get a combo AR assembly wrench.
A 1/4 Clevis pin

I don't need the rest

UW

Don't forget a medium pair of channel lock pliers if you dont own at least one pair of these already.

I use the channel lock pliers to install the roll pins in both the bolt hold open device and the trigger guard strap if your receiver uses this part.

Its a lot easier to use the pliers to press the pins into place rather than pound them into place.

I have assembled about 25-30 AR lowers using this method and haven't broken a EAR yet.