• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

breathless trepidation over muzzle loaders

jcr

This has to be seen to be believed. Make sure you watch the video.

The reports are just shocked that muzzle loaders can be purchased. And that they are "not toys", and are "deadly".

It seems that they've forgotten one of their Constitutional theories that the Second Amendment applies only to muzzle loaders.

A major loophole in NYS gun laws
http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/story?section=local&id=5714222

"State police trooper Amanda Reif has felt the power of the black powder rifle when she was shot by one last summer while responding to a domestic call.

"This one hit my vest and it mushroomed, it was the first shot. The second shot just hit a little higher," she said."

Now Im no expert on muzzloaders as I have only been shooting one for 30 years or so. Made mine from one of those evil Kits that the US Navy sold in the BX Nice Thompson .50 cal Hawkins

and I can reload pretty quick. Made myself a "Speedloader" Its a blockof wood with 6 1/2 in holes in it that hold prelubed round ball with a patch all greased up around it.

Just measure some power from the flash into the measure, dump the powder down the barrel, hold the loading block over the barrell and push the ball in with the ball starter, then switching to the ramrod, seat the ball,patch & powder firmly.
Store the ramrod. Take a cap from your capbox and place it on the nipple (Can I say nipple in public?)

Sight and fire.

"This one hit my vest and it mushroomed, it was the first shot. The second shot just hit a little higher," she said."

Sound like the girl wasa speaking antiballistic vest. She was awful nice to hang around for the second shot?????[rofl]

"State police trooper Amanda Reif has felt the power of the black powder rifle when she was shot by one last summer while responding to a domestic call.